Skip Navigation

Patrol Division

He was The Patrol Division is the "backbone" of the Elizabethtown Police Department comprised of three sections: Patrol; Specialty Services and Investigations.

Patrol Section

The Patrol Section is responsible for a city population of approximately 30,000 and an estimated daytime population of over 50,000, including a traffic volume near our Towne Mall of over 100,000 vehicles per day. The city is 28 square miles in size and is the center point of five major traffic ways.

The City of Elizabethtown is divided into two geographical patrol zones. There are six sergeants that supervise each of the three shifts -- First (6 a.m.-4 p.m.), Second (3 p.m.-1 a.m.), and Third (8 p.m.-6 a.m.). Patrol officers work four, 10 hour days with three days off, rotating every twenty-eight days one day backward. There is an overlap of officers during peak hours for calls.

There are 29 patrol officers who perform daily police duties. These duties include, but are not limited to, traffic enforcement, investigating injury and non-injury accidents, responding to calls for service, domestic situations, assaults, etc.

Our marked patrol cars are equipped with Mobile Vision in-car video systems, and each officer is fitted with a wireless microphone. Also, every marked patrol car is equipped with Stalker Dual Antenna Radar units.